You’ve most likely been searching the Internet for answers on How to Become a Certified Instructor or Concealed Handgun Instructor. Your Search is Over; Begin Your Process Today! Our Course is recognized in many states but here we will focus on getting certified in TEXAS.
Let’s start with the most common question:
What are the requirements for becoming a certified Texas License to Carry a Handgun (LTC) instructor?
The State of Texas has specific eligibility requirements and you can find them in the Texas Government Code, §411.172 and §411.190. It is not as complicated as it seems, Let’s explain the prerequisites for how to become a Texas LTC Instructor:
You must be 18 years old and provide written proof that you are certified to instruct other in the use of firearms, handguns to be specific. There are four ways that qualify you as a certified instructor: (you only need one of these to qualify)
#1. Written proof that you successfully completed a certified firearms/handgun instructor course from a nationally accepted course designed to train person as handgun instructors, this is part of the requirement. With this you must regularly instruct persons in the use of handguns for this to qualify as the Handgun instructor requirement. Important Note: Successfully completing our 2 day Certified Instructor Course WILL qualify under this requirement by the State of Texas.
**See more information about the class by clicking this link: Click Here
#2. Certification as a firearm instructor under the Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 1702, A copy of your Private Security Instructor registration will also be sufficient to become a certified Texas License to Carry a Handgun Instructor candidate.
#3. TCOLE firearm instructor certification will be sufficient to become a certified Texas License to Carry a Handgun Instructor candidate. You can submit copies of your TCOLE documents. Important Note: You MUST be a Certified Texas Commission on Law Enforcement (TCOLE) FIREARM INSTRUCTOR, NOT just a BASIC INSTRUCTOR.
#4. NRA firearm instructor Certification. Simply submit copies of your current (not expired) credentials qualify to become a certified Texas License to Carry a Handgun Instructor candidate. You Must be certified to instruct handgun/pistol.
Once you can supply one of the qualifications above:
1. You have to complete your application online: Day #2 of our course, we will cover this process.
2. Pay the fees
3. Complete the required training
4. Submit all supporting documentation (explained on DPS website)
To be clear, you must already be an instructor, to take the 3 day, Texas DPS LTC Instructor Course. That is why taking OUR course is the GOLD Standard for candidates all over Texas to become a Texas Certified LTC Instructor.
Becoming a USCCA instructor meets the prerequisite requirement to become a Texas LTC instructor as listed in the DPS requirements section of the Texas LTC-90 .
Set yourself apart from other self-defense instructors in your area with the nationally recognized USCCA Concealed Carry and Home Defense Fundamentals Instructor Certification. This course, (Lessons listed below) is the gold standard for law-abiding Americans seeking to obtain their concealed carry permits.
- Developing a Personal- and Home-Protection Plan
- Self-Defense Firearms Basics
- Shooting Fundamentals
- The Legal Use of Force
- Violent Encounters and the Aftermath
- Gear and Gadgets
- Basic and Advanced Skills