⚖️ Steps to Getting a Texas Concealed Handgun License*

To earn your Texas LTC the following criteria must be met:
  1. Meet all the eligibility requirements to earn a Texas Concealed Handgun license.
  2. Pass the state written exam with a 70% or better passing score.
  3. Pass the state proficiency/shooting exam with a 70% or better.
  4. Submit the following documents (I will give you a packet at class time with the below forms):
    • A Form-100 (I will supply) issued to you by your LTC instructor when you have completed and passed your Texas LTC written exam and proficiency shooting exam.
    • The photo from you Texas Drivers License or ID will be used for your License-To-Carry.
    • If you DO NOT have a valid Texas Drivers License or ID you will need the following items.
      • 2 passport photos – can be purchased from CVS or Walgreens
      • LTC-6 Photo Form – (I will supply)

*** IMPORTANT NOTE *** It is the sole responsibility of each individual to determine if they are ELIGIBLE to receive a Texas License-To-Carry. Alamo City Self Defense, Acselfdefense.com, their owners, employees, and representatives are not responsible, nor obligated, to determine eligibility of any individual as to their ability to be issued a Texas Concealed Handgun license. Each individual must verify their own eligibility status or verify eligibility through consultation with an attorney or qualified legal representative. NO REFUNDS shall be issued after an individual has completed our training courses even if it is determined that the individual is or was not NOT ELIGIBLE to receive a Texas Concealed Handgun license from the State of Texas.

  • You must be 21 (18 for Military & Veterans) years of age when DPS receives the full application.
  • If you are a citizen of another country you must have a resident visa.
  • If you have a Felony conviction with deferred adjudication, you must wait 10 years to apply unless the charge is for offenses against people, which includes homicide, kidnapping, restraint, human trafficking, sex offenses and assaults or Robbery.
  • You may NOT have been convicted of a Class A or B misdemeanor within the last 5 years.
  • You may NOT have been convicted of the Class C misdemeanor for Disorderly Conduct in the last 5 years.
  • You may NOT have been found by a court to be Currently in default on any student loan.
  • You may NOT have been found by a court to be Currently in default on any state or city taxes.
  • You may NOT have been found by a court to be Currently in default on child support.
  • You may NOT presently be charged with a: 1)Felony; 2)Class A or B misdemeanor; 3)Class C Disorderly Conduct.
  • You may NOT be currently under a court protective order or subject to a restraining order affecting the spousal relationship, other than a restraining order solely affecting property interest.
  • You may NOT (in the last 10 years preceding the date of application) have been adjudicated as having engaged in delinquent conduct violating a penal law of the grade of felony as a juvenile.
  • You cannot have made any material misrepresentation, or failed to disclose any material fact, in an application submitted to DPS.
  • You cannot have been convicted twice within the last 10 years for any Class B misdemeanor, or greater, involving the use of alcohol or a controlled substance.
  • You cannot be a fugitive from justice; a chemically dependent person; or a person of unsound mind.

At Alamo Self Defense, we offer several ways to get your Texas License To Carry Permit. Click here to get started.

Leave a Reply

Scroll to top